Law undergraduate essay competition announcement

We are delighted to announce the winner of our law undergraduate essay competition! Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd and Professor Richard Susskind OBE announce the winner in this short film.

The response to the competition was excellent with submissions from students at universities all over the UK.  We would like to congratulate all the entrants for the depth of their research, the insights and ideas put forward, the understanding of the legal technology landscape and above all the passion and commitment they clearly demonstrate to access to justice and diversity in the profession.

In particular, we would like to congratulate the eight finalists for their well thought out essays and original ideas.

Overall winner: Jude D’Alesio, University of Bristol


  • Daniel Smithson, University of Durham
  • Ghazi Hakem, University of Liverpool
  • Amit Pandya, London School of Economics
  • Morven Gill, Edinburgh Napier University
  • Sofie Gowran, University of Durham
  • Suet Min Sarah Lok, London School of Economics
  • Kosta Lovato, University of Birmingham

Congratulations to Jude D’Alesio for the winning entry!

Jude will be undertaking a week’s internship in the London office of international law firm Brown Rudnick over the summer. Our thanks to Brown Rudnick for offering this wonderful opportunity to the winner. Jude’s essay will be published on our website and the IBA’s Litigation newsletter in May.

Our thanks to all of the judges and in particular Lord Thomas and Professor Susskind for their support.

ILBF judging team:

  • The Rt Hon. the Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd, former Lord Chief Justice of England and Wales, Patron of the ILBF
  • Professor Richard Susskind OBE, President of the Society of Computers and Law
  • Katrina Crossley, CEO of the ILBF
  • Maryann McMahon, Morgan Stanley and ILBF Trustee
  • Jane Colston, Brown Rudnick and ILBF Trustee
  • Ellen Lake, Clifford Chance and ILBF Operating Committee
  • Emma Marshall, Clifford Chance and ILBF Operating Committee
  • Yasmin Hassan, Edmonds Marshall McMahon
  • Chiara Iorizzo, McDermott Will & Emery
  • James Yang, KCL Law Society

We wish all the entrants to our law undergraduate essay competition the very best of luck in their future careers.